#Janathon 2015 Day 30 – Running Deliveries

After a busy day at work it’s always nice to get home to a parcel.  It’s even more exciting when the parcel is running related.  This week I’ve had double the excitement with two deliveries!

The most important delivery was first to arrive.  After months of frustration I’ve finally found some shorts that don’t have inner netting or briefs, with the help of a Twitter friend.

The tricky thing about hunting for shorts with no inners is rarely do websites make it clear if the shorts have any inners or not and if you’re in store, you look a little strange peering into or up shorts.  Fortunately I was given a tip off that these particular models didn’t have inners.  Strangely, the shorts are from the same manufacturer of my 3 ageing pairs of shorts: adidas.

adidas base 3 stripe shorts
adidas base 3 stripe shorts

Both pairs are slightly longer than my existing pairs but they’re still well above my knees so it won’t be a problem.  The base 3 stripe shorts have two open side pockets which will be perfect for stuffing gloves into, once my hands warm up on cold, early morning marathon training runs.

adidas cool365 woven shorts
adidas cool365 woven shorts

The cool365 shorts have a single, small zip pocket perfect for storing a car or house key.

What I will say is they are shorts to run in, rather than specific running shorts.  I still haven’t found any running-specific shorts with no inners but these will certainly do the job.  The question is, just when will they get their first run out?  I think it’ll be too cold to wear them as tail-runner at Oxford parkrun tomorrow and as I never try anything new on a race day, they won’t see me round Watford Half on Sunday.  Perhaps my Tuesday night running group will be first to witness them!

So not content with one running-related delivery, my second of the week cam from a brand that possibly isn’t renowned for running.

I can’t even remember where I first saw this item.  With my Sunday long slow runs getting longer I needed some help to find some new routes to prevent me from running around in circles and this was the perfect choice to find all the options:

My very own custom-printed OS map!
My very own custom-printed OS map!

What better way to find all the footpaths, bridleways and lanes to run on than OS maps but you can never get by with just one OS map – the area you want always seem to edge off the page.  Well, worry no more; with the custom printed map you can select where you want the map centred, by clicking and dragging.  Easy!

I could go for miles and miles
I could go for miles and miles

I’ve gone for the Landranger 1:50000 scale which stretches from Stow-on-the-Wold in the North West corner, to Oxford on the East edge, Didcot in the South East corner and Faringdon in the South West corner.  More than enough to keep me occupied for 20 miles!

I’m looking forward to mapping out my test routes for the new shorts.  Bring on the marathon training.

I’m running the London Marathon on 26th April on behalf of African Children’s Fund.  I’m their first ever marathon runner and I have set myself the target of raising £2,000 to help fund the work they carry out on educational projects in East Africa.  Please support me to support them by making a donation at: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/runningdanw

 

2 thoughts on “#Janathon 2015 Day 30 – Running Deliveries”

Leave a comment