#Janathon 2015 Day 31 – What a month!

The last day of Janathon was due to be the first time I volunteered at parkrun.  The weather had other ideas.  From nowhere, we awoke to a covering of snow which, due to understandable safety concerns, put paid to my tail-running duties.  It didn’t stop me going for a relaxing leg loosener before tomorrow’s Watford Half though.

After a call for additional volunteers earlier in the week, Mrs W and I were looking forward to giving something back to Oxford parkrun.  We wrapped up warm and headed off along the slushy roads hoping that the course would be clear enough to run.  Unfortunately, on arrival, we met today’s run director, Dom, who passed on the message that he’d decided it wouldn’t be safe to run with a number of very icy patches.

As a Run England group leader and coach I know how difficult this dilemma can be.  You dearly want people to be able to run and enjoy their passion but when you’re responsible for other people it’s better safe than sorry.

So on my return to Witney I headed out for a relaxing 5k to get my legs moving ready for the Watford Half tomorrow.

There was more snow, I promise!
There was more snow, I promise!

It was surprisingly solid under foot although somewhat slushy.  A relaxing 5k around town was just what I wanted.  It was lovely to switch off and observe what was going on around me rather than worrying about effort, pace or heart rate.

I’m not sure whether it was the recent Sport England survey suggesting less people are active (although running has seen an increase!) or whether the Australian Open inspired this kid and coach, but fair play!

Who says tennis is a summer sport?!
Who says tennis is a summer sport?!

With my run over it was time to turn my attention to tomorrow and preparing my kit.

The race kit for Watford Half
The race kit for Watford Half

It’ll be the first race outing for my club vest but it’ll be unusual to be the only one.  Running such an early half marathon meant going a bit further afield than I’d usually race.  I’ve never raced this early in the year so my pre- and post-race kit is just as important.

The pre- and post-race kit for Watford Half
The pre- and post-race kit for Watford Half

It’ll be a fantastic opportunity to try out the Secret Training race day care kit I was sent in December.  Hopefully the weather will stay clear to allow the race to go ahead and stay kind to allow me to stretch my legs.

And that just leaves me to look back at my most enjoyable Janathon yet.  Of all my Janathons, this years has seen me read the most posts, receive the most hits on my own blog but haven’t run the most miles.  Can you spot where I picked up my foot niggle?

Janathon Summary1Record your runs with SmashRun - sign up for free here

Come and join the fun at SmashRun – sign up for free here

5 thoughts on “#Janathon 2015 Day 31 – What a month!”

Leave a Reply

