Juneathon 2015 Day 30 – The One With The Heat

I can’t believe it is the end of June already!  Where does the time go?  This year’s Juneathon has had it’s ups and downs but it finished on a high.

My Juneathon experience has been a strange one this year, it almost feels a bit flat.  I think it’s partly because so much else has been going on I’ve had to just get by and some of my posts have definitely been sacrificed.

On the other hand I’ve had some great comments on my blog and good Twitter conversations too, not to mention some great runs – of which tonight’s is one.

Those of you who have followed me through Juneathon (or beyond) will know that I coach a friendly group on a Tuesday night.  The group has been going for 21 months and we usually have between 8 and 12 new or returning runners.

With the big jump in temperature today, I wasn’t sure if people would brave the heat so was bracing myself to for no shows.

As the church bells struck out 7pm I set off with 7 eager runners, promising them a gentle run on a new and more picturesque route so that we could enjoy being outside in the lovely weather.  It would also take us off road and off path – utilising some of the tracks that meander along the river Windrush.

Passing through gates meant, on one hand, it would be harder as it was stop-start but on the other meant they were forced to have a breather and not push too hard.  The sun was surprisingly still strong.

The more rugged terrain and burgeoning undergrowth didn’t seem to put any of the group off and on returning to the Leys there were smiles on faces and lots of positivity about what perhaps could have been a soul destroying run around town.

I meant to take a photo or two en route but got caught up in the run and the chatter.  I love my group.  It’s so gratifying to know that I’m helping people find enjoyment in running.

And what now, now that Juneathon is gone?  Possibly one of my busiest July’s on record.

My eagerness to sign up to races to keep my post-marathon motivation going sees me take on the next of the Mota-vatoin series on Thursday, a parkrun with my Tuesday night group on Saturday (with a social in the evening too) and then more races at the Iffley Road track (1 mile), the Olympic Park (10k) and the run leg of a triathlon at Eton Dorney (7.5k) as part of a team named “Soggy, Coggy & Joggy”.  As well as all that, The Wife and I are off to the Anniversary Games to watch some athletics too!

So keep an eye on my blog for more on all that, as well as some reviews for some new gear I’ve picked up over the last month or two including items from Absolute360, X-Bionic and Runderwear.

Leave a Reply

