Juneathon 2015 Day 10: The One With The Bath

I woke up this morning with a groan.  My whole body ached.  It wasn’t surprising after the deceivingly simple yet lung busting session yesterday.  Although I may have been too quick to accuse.

I loved the sense of satisfaction I got from just 10.5 minutes of running last night.  I loved the sense of satisfaction my athletes got too.

I’d warned them that they might feel a little more achey than usual this morning so I wasn’t surprised I was feeling it too.

I’ve recently started monitoring my resting heart rate in the mornings to keep track of what the body is saying after hard sessions.  I’ve read a lot about how your resting heart rate will be elevated if your body is recovering from a hard session or battling a bug.

Using the HR sensor on my Galaxy S5 (it’s surprisingly accurate compared to my HR watches and is virtually instant) I record my resting heart rate first thing in the morning.

My normal resting HR is usually found in the low fifties but has been known to sneak under the 50bpm mark on a few occasions.

The morning after hard sessions or races sees it climb into the high fifties and sometimes sticking its head above 60 bpm, towards a mighty 65 bpm

So imagine my surprise, disappointment and consternation to see an off-the-chart 78 bpm this morning!

Wow! I know that session was tough but really? Perhaps the sensor is playing up.

*restest*

77 bpm. No.

*retest*

79 bpm. No.

*retest*

78 bpm. NO!

*retest*

82 bpm. What?! Oh, I’m getting worked up now.

As I tried to ignore the results and start my day it became clear that it wasn’t the S5’s sensor that was having a wobble; it was me!

In all the disbelief I’d failed to notice a distinct difficulty in breathing and a very pronounced soreness on swallowing.

That’s right: it was the dreaded manflu!

So with a race hovering on the horizon, my Juneathon activity today is a hot, deep, excessively-bubbly bubble bath.

I’m much more of a shower man but there’s a time and a place for a decent bath and here and now was that time and place!

Oh, and a big pat on the back to my heart, who correctly indicated that it was having to work a bit harder this morning.  I’m feeling a lot better after the bath so hopefully it’ll be a little more relaxed tomorrow morning.  We’ll see.

5 thoughts on “Juneathon 2015 Day 10: The One With The Bath”

  1. Great idea, I got out of the habit of taking my HR. I’m the worst at knowing (or listening) when to take rest days, so maybe a numeric indicator would be handy!

    Hope you’re feeling better by now!

Leave a Reply

