#Janathon 2015 Day 27 – Courteous Drivers

I’m pleased to say that today is the first day that I’d not even thought about my foot, so it must be back to normal.  I’m back in the swing of things and looking forward to attempting a positive, attacking race at the Watford Half on Sunday.  It’s the only race in my marathon build up that I’ll actually be racing – the other races I’ve entered will be all about the training rather than times.

But bringing thoughts back to today, a Tuesday night (as featured in the England Athletic newsletter) is less about my running and more about helping other progress their running career.

A decent group of 9 runners came out for another dark run on a surprisingly mild evening.

It’s great to see some new faces returning for the second and third sessions and it’s even more pleasing to see some familiar faces continuing to turn up more than a year since they started running.

As I’m sure I’ve said before, I lead from the back, allowing the runners to head off at their own pace, providing the runners with “checkpoints” to turn and loop back to me.  I’ve found this method incredibly successful at dealing with a mixed ability group as it allows the faster runners to cover more ground whilst allowing me to keep an eye on the whole group.

Today I covered 6.5k which means that everyone in the group covered at least that much, with some easily stretching out towards 8k and perhaps beyond.  It was a pleasant surprise to find a plethora of courteous drivers out there tonight, patiently allowing the group to cross roads safely.  Thank you!

2 thoughts on “#Janathon 2015 Day 27 – Courteous Drivers”

Leave a Reply

