#Juneathon Day 25: Brought to you by the letter E

My Juneathon has taken some unexpected twists and turns and none more surprising than today.

I am a big fan of social media, especially when it comes to running related activities.  I’ve secured sponsorship for charity, trainers for myself and met lots of interesting people as a result of initial introductions over social media.

Well, yesterday, I spotted a post from Bupa Running on Facebook:

I was excited to see this post yesterday
I was excited to see this post yesterday

It seemed too good to be true and I thought I’d be too late to secure a place however, today, I received an e-mail today confirming that all I had to do was follow a link and pay for my place!

The Great North Run is a special race to me having spent 4 years at university in Newcastle and it being the home city of my Dad.  Back in the Noughties I just about completed the race 4 times but this was before I was a real runner!

Having failed in the original ballot, I now have an excellent opportunity to train for a personal best performance at such an iconic and special race.  It just shows you should never give up and always keep your eyes open!

Tonight my Juneathon activity consisted of a meeting with members of the club I belong to, Witney Road Runners, about the club’s coaching strategy.

Exciting times!

3 thoughts on “#Juneathon Day 25: Brought to you by the letter E”

Leave a Reply

