#Juneathon Day 5: Brought to you by the letter M

Today was #run2workday but I chose not to run to work.  Not because we don’t have a working shower but because I had a race this evening.  Tonight was the second of five races set on Thursday nights between May and August across Oxfordshire.  The first race, last month, was as sublime as it was ridiculous and tonight’s race didn’t disappoint.

This is the first year that I’ve entered the 5-race Mota-vation series and so far I’ve loved every minute.  Well, almost.  Last month’s race was held in the absolutely torrential rain that we come to expect from the UK weather in May.

What was surprising, however, was that I managed to record a fantastic time despite the rain.  What was even more surprising was that I managed a great time without the use of my GPS watch.  I just listened to my body and worked on effort rather than relying on pace or splits.

The weather was much better for this evening’s race and my watch worked tonight.  I am pleased to say that I had another storming race!

I recorded some of the fastest, successive kilometre splits ever and managed to average 4:22 per kilometre which is a couple of seconds quicker than my average pace last month.  Looking at my watch data, I clocked 5k in 21:42.  Not bad considering my 10k PB is 47:43.  It brings my long term goal of a 45 minute 10k onto the horizon.

The races have become a family affair with Steve “Muzzer” Meredith, my cousin-in-law, and his son Ryan both taking part.  Steve’s wife Jackie and @MrsTWymer were also joined by @woxwhite, my father-in-law, to watch the race unfold.

After a short drive home and a fish supper it was time to tackle day 5 of the Kinetic Revolution 30-day technique challenge.

I’ll be honest: I was shattered so I decided to skip the stretch and mobility exercises and instead just opted to do the balance tasks.  Today was a minute balancing on each leg with your eyes closed, which I am reliably informed was the most hilarious thing ever according to @MrsTWymer, followed by a minute of running man on each leg.

It’s surprising how long a minute is when your eyes are closed and your struggling with all your might to stay standing on your weak leg!  Thankfully no footage exists of this but I was papped during the running man:

Before you ask, I have no idea why it’s called the Mota-vation series rather than Motivation series but it seems to be working any way.

 

3 thoughts on “#Juneathon Day 5: Brought to you by the letter M”

Leave a Reply

