Today’s @Juneathon: Brought to you by the letter H

My 2014 Juneathon will feature a mix of activities, but all focussed on my running.  The main aim is to follow the Kinetic Revolution 30 Day Challenge but I have also decided to attempt to follow another 30 day challenge I saw on Facebook.  This secondary aim is a somewhat sceptical look at whether these slightly glib “anyone can do it” challenges really is a) achievable and b) beneficial.

Day 1 of Juneathon was hard, had hills and had a visit to Hampstead
Day 1 of Juneathon was hard, had hills and had a visit to Hampstead

Of course, among these strength and conditioning routines will be my normal running training activities.

Day 1: Part 1: Ab Challenge

  • 15 sit-ups
  • 5 crunches
  • 5 leg raises
  • 10s plank

My core strength isn’t all that great but using planking as my Janathon 2013 activity I managed to get over 4 minutes for a plank so I thought today would be a piece of cake.

It was hard!

Well, the sit-ups were the hardest.  I haven’t done sit-ups for years – I prefer doing crunches instead – and I needed a little help from @MrsTWymer to keep my feet on the ground.

The other exercises were easy enough although I had to look up what a leg raise is.  I found loads of good videos of exercises from Livestrong.com on YouTube including one for leg raises:

Day 1: Running

Since finding out at the end of April that May 6th was the 60th anniversary of Bannister’s 4 minute mile I have had something of a fascination with the mile distance.

I managed to coerce more than 60 people around the globe to run a mile in tribute to the anniversary and whilst my favoured distance is 10k, I’m eagerly pursuing an improvement in my 6:13 mile PB.

As a result I have been focussing a little more on speed and strength work to work on holding my speed up over the shorter distance.

This morning’s run was a 30 minute hill session: a few minutes warm-up, 7 reps of max effort up with walking down, followed by a jog to cool-down and stretches.

I know this might sound strange but I loved it!  It was, of course, hard work but so enjoyable to run fast and hard.  I even had a lady with two scottie dogs tell me how excellent it was to see me training and interestingly asked me about my training.  Luckily she caught me on the downhill!

Day 1: Part 2: Kinetic Revolution: Technique

The bit of Day 1 that I was most looking forward to had to wait until late afternoon; unfortunately the link to the first session hadn’t landed in my inbox before I went out to Hampstead for the day for a food festival – my other passion!

Back in October, @MrsTWymer joined the beginners running group that I lead to start her running career and she was interested to join me on the living room floor to try the session.

The first 6 days of this challenge works on basic mobility and balance, before progressing every 6 days.  Today’s session was:

  • Hip Flexor Stretch – 3 sets [20s hold + 20 reps]
  • Hamstring Stretch – 3 sets of 20 reps each leg
  • Adductor Stretch – 2 sets of 10 reps
  • Single Leg Balance – 2 sets of 30s on each leg, with eyes open

James at Kinetic Revolution (aka @KineticRev on Twitter) has produced a series of videos to explain the exercises and introduce each session.  The demonstration is clear and the explanation is simple – two things I know from my Coach in Running Fitness course are essential for athletes (yes, we are all athletes) to get benefit from sessions.  If anything is still unclear you can leave comments and questions on the videos.

The content is “members only” but all you have to do to become a member is sign up with a valid e-mail address here.  If you want to improve your running technique and help reduce the chances of injury then I’d recommend climbing on board this boat!

The workout felt great and both of us enjoyed spending just 15 minutes investing in our running technique.

So Day 1 of Juneathon was Hard, Hilly and involved a visit to Hampstead.

PS. At Hamptead, we parked on a side road off The Bishops Avenue.  OMG!  The houses were amazing and some were for sale.  Looks like I need to save a little more money before purchasing this one or this one – unless you all want to club together for my birthday which is later this month. No?

5 thoughts on “Today’s @Juneathon: Brought to you by the letter H”

  1. Thanks for the mention Dan! Great to have you onboard with the 30 Day Challenge 🙂 I look forward to hearing about your progress in all aspects this month…

  2. Pingback: Ramshackle Runnah
  3. I struggle with sit ups too, we’ve been told for years to avoid them. But I heaved myself up 15 times yesterday for the sake of The Ab challenge. I am going to register for the Kinetic rev challenge too. I often get really useful info from him on the twittersphere. Good luck with the rest of Juneathon.

Leave a Reply

