First step to sub 2hr half marathon

Yesterday marked 13 weeks to go until the Oxford Half Marathon.  It also marked the start of my new training programme; a programme that I hope will help me smash my half marathon PB and secure a sub 2 hour half marathon.

As some of you will remember, some time ago I wrote a blog about running apps (which is still getting hits from search engine results!) where I reviewed the major running apps and decided that, whilst adidas miCoach was a close second, I should stick with Nike+.  I also said that I’d need to play some more with miCoach, and I’m glad to say that I’ve been playing with it quite a lot.  300 miles worth of playing to be honest!  Over that distance I’ve managed to get to grip with miCoach and it’s extended functionality through its website.  I’m now taking a big step and entrusting my first half marathon training programme in the hands of miCoach.

As you’d expect, my first session was fairly easy-going – a long, easy run at my green zone pace.  Luckily the British summer decided to make a brief appearance which meant my run took place under pleasant blue skies.  The biggest issue I had with the session was that my 1 hour workout was, in fact, 1 hour and 10 minutes long!  As I was expecting to enter the last 5 minutes, a slower warm down in my blue zone, I knew I had just the right distance to get me home.  That was before I realised I had another 10 minutes to go!  So after a few zig zag detours I was then ready to hit the warm down.  I’m sure it won’t take long to get used to working on timed sessions rather than distance sessions.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that I’d covered 8 miles in 71 minutes, and scored a fabulous 94% accuracy on my workout.  A decent distance and encouraging pace.  Workout number 2 is tomorrow and takes the form of a fartlek session, which I’m strangely looking forward to.  I wonder if I can score anywhere near the 94%?

4 thoughts on “First step to sub 2hr half marathon”

Leave a Reply

