Final Countdown

It’s Sunday evening and I think I’ve just scored another first in my eventful 12 months of running. After missing a 5k run last week and only managing a sobering 10k yesterday morning I had to somehow squeeze in 15km of running and enough rest to be fresh for next Sunday’s Carterton 10k, the conclusion of my year-long charity challenge for Maggie’s Cancer Caring Centres. I knew there was only one thing that would get me back on track: I needed to go running now, 8.15pm on a Sunday! All I needed was some gentle encouragement from The Wife to turn the thought into reality.

I’m glad I went for a number of reasons. Firstly, it means I don’t have any unnecessary pressure on the build up to next Sunday’s race. It was also an opportunity to blow off the cobwebs from 2 night’s on the town as well as a welcome confidence boost that the legs were feeling back to normal.

So it’s now the final run in (pun absolutely intended and deserving I think you’ll agree?).

This time next week I will have completed the challenge that has not only allowed me to raise a significant amount of cash for charity (£1275 at the time of writing this) but provided the focus to enable me to actually take part in some exercise. Running is now most definitely part of my life, part of who I am, a habit.

I’m addicted and I love it!

Leave a Reply

