Page 20 – 500 Miles

Here’s the next installment about my recent participation in the international sketchbook project organised by Arthouse.

The theme I chose was “Along The Line” which I’ve interpretted both literally in terms of the style of my drawings but also to use the pages to portray different things associated with the timeline of my life so far – a mini-autobiography, if you will.

This page is not another homage to my time in Aberdeen dancing to the Proclaimers (because that’s what happens in Scotland) but is my biggest running challenge yet.

500 Miles
Page 20 - 500 Miles

My company chose Maggie’s Cancer Care Centres as their charity of the year so I decided to do something big to raise money, and get back into a habit of exercise.  I chose to try to cover the distance between the two proposed Maggie’s Centres closest to the 2 offices I work from – Oxford and Aberdeen – within 12 months with the aim of raising £1 for every kilometre covered.

I chose to measure in kilometres because that meant I’d be aiming for £800.

As I write this I have covered 960km and raised £908.  With 6 weeks of my 12 months left, I look set to break the revised targets of £1000 and 1000km.  If I keep pushing I might even get to 1100km!

Leave a Reply

