Page 4 – What’s the score?

Here’s the next installment about my recent participation in the international sketchbook project organised by Arthouse.

The theme I chose was “Along The Line” which I’ve interpretted both literally in terms of the style of my drawings but also to use the pages to portray different things associated with the timeline of my life so far – a mini-autobiography, if you will.

In my early years, I like to think I was something of a musical prodigy.  I wasn’t.  I was pretty good at the viola.  Apart from having to lug an instrument around school on one day a week, it did give me an appreciation of classical music, which forms the inspiration for “What’s the score?”

What's the score?
Page 4 - What's the score?

Whilst the title gives a nod to my passion for watching football the score is actually real – it is the first 8 bars of my favourite piece of classical music.  Do you know what the score is?

I’ll give you a clue…

It was composed by someone with the initials EE.

And…

It’s one of a number of variations.

And…

This piece is named after Noah’s great-grandson.

It is of course…

“Nimrod” from Edward Elgar’s Enigma Variations.

Leave a Reply

