End On A High

Today was the last day of Janathon – a challenge to exercise every day of January.  Needless to say, those of you who read regular will know that Janathon hasn’t quite gone as I expected although it has enabled me to refocus on some quality training sessions that seem to be paying dividends.

I was looking forward to tonight’s work out which is very masochistic considering it was already below freezing and Tuesday night is my interval session night!  And I can safely say that I enjoyed it too.  Maybe it was the positive thinking, maybe it was the incentive of keeping warm or maybe, just maybe, I’m getting better but I had a great session.

It was my fourth attempt at a little interval plan giving to me by the closest thing I have to a coach, my friend @marathon_pat.  I do a 6-minute easy warm up (which gives me the opportunity to get the 1km up onto flat ground) then do four 2-minute intervals as fast as I can, with a minute at comfortable pace in between, all followed by an easy warm down to get home which is around 7 or 8 minutes.

Looking back over the four attempts I can see progress!

Distance Covered

(between warm-up & -down)

Fastest Pace

(minutes per km)

12 January

2.28km

03:58

17 January

2.33km

03:52

24 January

2.36km

04:04

31 January

2.43km

03:35

Hopefully I can continue to make improvements over the next 7 weeks in preparation for the attack on my 10k PB at the climax of my 12 month fundraising challenge: the Carterton 10k.

If you’re looking for a decent 10km race to enter I can recommend the Carterton 10k.  It’s a 2 lap, relatively flat course with little to no traffic and a relatively small field (last year was 190 people).  I’m looking to get as many people running it to help celebrate the end of my fundraising challenge for Maggie’s.  If I could get 10% of the field it would be awesome!  Let me know if you’re interested.

One thought on “End On A High”

Leave a Reply

