WiNo Frii WiFi?

After yesterday’s slight mishap I am pleased to say that my Janathon day 4 run went to plan!

The first day of a three day training course finished in good time allowing me to catch the end of Pointless (an awesome quiz on the BBC, hosted by Xander Armstrong) before going out into the dark Scottish night.

Fortunately for me, the rain had stated away so I set out with the aim of doing a 5/6 km loop that I’ve done when I’ve been up in Aberdeenshire for work before.

To spice things up I chose to do it in the opposite direction to normal, and as if that wasn’t enough I decided to add a small out-and-back extension from the off! What I consistently forget about the town of Westhill, where my office and hotel are, is that it’s hilly! Who’d have thought?!

What makes it worse is, even in my head I was thinking “I’ll just head to the bus stop at the top of the hill.”

My legs were aching at the 1km mark where I rejoined the beginning of my normal route but I was determined to get a decent distance covered after yesterday’s disappointment so I eased off and plodded on.

Just over halfway round I had a call from my Dad to thank me for his birthday presents which included a vintage Newcastle United programme and a winning scratchcard – ยฃ20, result! This was a welcome distraction, helping me cover a kilometre without even thinking.

Then I swung past the office (still a couple of cars left in the car park) and around the trading estate, before turning back up towards the hotel. Which is where I am now, having showered and eaten and ready to watch the Newcastle Utd v Manchester Utd game.

And that leads me to explain the title of my blog; I’m by no means a globetrotter however I’ve stayed in my fair share of hotels, across Europe and in the States, all of which have had free WiFi for guests. Yet I sit here in the Westhill Holiday Inn and have to pay for it*, likewise when I stay in the Premier Inn down the road.

I’d expect to have to pay at a TraveLodge, the RyanAir of the hotel world but Holiday Inn? Tut, tut, tut!

Are your hotels really struggling that much that you have to charge your customers for the WiFi?

* I will add, that they do offer you a short period free by calling reception for a PIN number but seriously, how much can I do in half an hour?! And I’m a Gold Priority Member, none the less! ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 thoughts on “WiNo Frii WiFi?”

  1. Well done for the hills, I keep thinking I ought to do a hilly run but I’m a bit reluctant during the beginning of Janathon … well my legs are ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Well done on the running! The reason i’m commenting is because the title of your blog caught my eye as I too had to recently pay for WiFi in a budget hotel. It really irritated me. I was speaking to a friend and she said that she has given up on hotels as so many of them charge you. Last time she was away she stayed in a serviced apartment in Manchester and said it was much better, free WiFi and even better she had Sky. Might be worth a go next time?

Leave a Reply

